• Hey everyone, staff have documented a list of banned content and subject matter that we feel are not consistent with site values, and don't make sense to host discussion of on Famiboards. This list (and the relevant reasoning per item) is viewable here.
  • Furukawa Speaks! We discuss the announcement of the Nintendo Switch Successor and our June Direct Predictions on the new episode of the Famiboards Discussion Club! Check it out here!

Fun Club very serious question about super mario 64

Derachi

Fresh Eater
Founder
Pronouns
he/him
ok im a newbie so im sorry if this is a dumb question but

do i need to play super mario 1-63 first or can i start at 64? can someone tell me which of them i need to play to know what’s going on in 64? ive heard a lot about this franchise and i wanna get into it but dunno where to start

this is a common misconception (distractedpixels is pulling your leg). the game is actually called this because there are 64 stars in the game. hope this helps!

It's mostly standalone, but you will be missing the context on why Peach was baking that cake

when you haven't played 1-63 mario knows you're a fake fan and thus refuses to say the valuable "a" between words, only saying "It's me. Mario"

oh it’s a prequel?? okay thanks. is it on game pass?
No, it's a Japan-only release exclusive to the My Nintendo Japan store. You'll need to jailbreak your Switch. And also beat a nice old lady who loves Mario over the head so that you can take her copy and book it to Narita Airport so you can get home before the authorities can catch up to you.

But if you're a real Mario fan, it's not really much to ask.

You only need to see the SMB Movie with and it's sequel/prequel "Blue Velvet" in which you see Bowser's origin, you are set after that.

Altought if you skip 61 you will miss Mario/Halo crossover, epic moment with Master Chef doing some kick ass recipes.

So, took you 63 titles to hop on the Super Mario bandwagon, huh?