• Hey everyone, staff have documented a list of banned content and subject matter that we feel are not consistent with site values, and don't make sense to host discussion of on Famiboards. This list (and the relevant reasoning per item) is viewable here.
  • Do you have audio editing experience and want to help out with the Famiboards Discussion Club Podcast? If so, we're looking for help and would love to have you on the team! Just let us know in the Podcast Thread if you are interested!

Discussion Imaginary numbers - okay I get them now

D

Deleted member 2

Here's a stupidly simple video series that actually made me understand why imaginary numbers exist.

It also helps to understand that "imaginary numbers" is a buffoon's name. A goof's name. The wrong name for what they are. "Lateral numbers" is more accurate.

Anyway, I've always seen the introduction of imaginary numbers as the stopping point for my "grasp" of mathematics. I was a shit student so I never got to calculus. I dropped out of college, too, so I never got enough time to fuck around with these babies in precalc. So the concept has always mystified me.

Love that video, I've used it in the classroom.
Indeed "imaginary" is a poor choice for a name. So is "real" for that matter.

Quick remark after viewing it again and refreshing my memory of it: the video kind of glosses over irrational numbers and omits them completely during the historical runthrough.

The Pythagoreans of ancient Greece are said to be the first to have learned of irrationals, supposedly somewhere around 500 B.C., give or take. This was way before the invention of the decimal system and the use of zero.
But the story goes that they found their existence to be so disturbing, people were murdered to prevent the secret from getting out.

Negative numbers, funnily enough, were written about seriously only much later, in India around 900 A.D.