• Hey everyone, staff have documented a list of banned content and subject matter that we feel are not consistent with site values, and don't make sense to host discussion of on Famiboards. This list (and the relevant reasoning per item) is viewable here.

Retro I have a 14 year old nephew that can kick my ass in Fortnite, but he is unable to beat the first world in SMB1 (NES)

FernandoRocker

Piranha Plant
So, yeah. This is a thread without a purpose...

I'm 39 (almost 40). I started playing back in the 80s. I was a Nintendo child, and grew up with the NES. I have no problems beating SMB1 (NES), Mega Man (classic), and I have no problems beating games like Cuphead or beating the bosses in Hollow Knight (with defined patterns). I also replayed Metroid Prime (remaster) recently and had a blast.

But my 14 old nephew... he considers himself a "gamer" (I kinda hate that word) and considers Nintendo games as kiddie games; he only plays Fortnite, Rocket League, GTA, and Spider-Man. That's basically his whole gaming knowledge. He really considers me old, and he is always sending me videos and memes about how old I am, specially because I can beat those old games.

But he is unable to even beat the first world in SMB1. Just the idea of having to press and hold a button to run is a weird concept to him, so he mostly walks. He can't beat the first level of Cuphead (he has tried).

But he can't kick my ass in Fortnite easily...

Last edited:
Kids have it easy these days. Games were brutal and unforgiving back in the day. The old days really molded us into battle-hardened individuals. Days where we didn’t have the internet. Days where we had to draw our own maps and take notes. Days where we didn’t have walkthroughs.

Those were the days.

I’m 45. I was there. I saw it all.

Just the idea of having to press and hold a button to run is a weird concept to him, so he mostly walks. .