• Hey everyone, staff have documented a list of banned content and subject matter that we feel are not consistent with site values, and don't make sense to host discussion of on Famiboards. This list (and the relevant reasoning per item) is viewable here.

Fun Club Advice for moving out?

Magic-Man

Perseus Jackson
Pronouns
He/Him
Hi! I know this is kinda a weird topic for this kind of forum, but I'm just looking for some advice.

I'm planning on moving out of my friends house in late December, and I'll be moving to somewhere around Knoxville Tennessee. I have an uncle up there and I've vacationed in the area a few times, so I'm familiar with it and love it there (it's pretty much the opposite of where I currently live). I'll be renting a room from someone while I look for a better job (I also do Instacart so I'll still have a source of income up there) and I have enough money saved up to last me a while. But this is my first time doing this. My whole life will change and I know for a fact I won't be able to prepare for everything on my own. So what should I know?

Clear your debt if any.
Go through your belongings and sell / give away / throw away what you don’t need.

Start getting packing materials and pack things you don't need to use immediately over the next couple of months. Depending on how much stuff you have to take, a few boxes a week will put in a good position the week of the move.

If you're sharing things with your friend, figure out who's keeping what, and budget for replacing items you're not taking. Also figure out your budget for furniture, etc

After moving to different states twice, I'd say you should be sure to get rid of a lot of belongings you no longer use. Donate what you can or put stuff up on FB marketplace/Mercari/eBay. It really helps.