• Hey everyone, staff have documented a list of banned content and subject matter that we feel are not consistent with site values, and don't make sense to host discussion of on Famiboards. This list (and the relevant reasoning per item) is viewable here.
  • Do you have audio editing experience and want to help out with the Famiboards Discussion Club Podcast? If so, we're looking for help and would love to have you on the team! Just let us know in the Podcast Thread if you are interested!

Fun Club Is Kain from Blood Omen: Legacy of Kain an edgelord? (A look into late 90's "mature" gaming) *Spoilers*

SiG

Chain Chomp
I started playing Blood Omen the moment I got it off GOG and the OpenGL wrapper for the game. Apart from the combat which...seems to be of its time and a bit dated (Silicon Knights would incidentally improve their combat system with Eternal Darkness), the character of Kain comes off rather...unlikable.

As a human, he comes off as a bit selfish but...as a vampire, he's like a total dick to everyone. He's only interested in his own selfish desire for revenge, and even when presented with the opportunity to help Nosgoth, he cares not about the fate of his world. In a sense, he'se sort of like a proto-Kratos in that anti-hero protagonists were considered cool when they didn't really care much about anything but their own adevistic desires, an anything else that so happens to benefit morally "good" characters that come across them is just an added bonus (i.e. Kain kills even worse vampires like "MAAAALIIIK".

Then we get to Raziel, who went on to become Kain's...sword. At first, Kain was just a complete douche by ripping his wings and tossing him into the Lake of the Dead, and later hounded for attempting to seek revenge by none other than Kain himself, but eventually it turns out Raziel was being used all along by the Elder God, and when it came time for the former leftenant to assist his original master, Kain...didn't seem to care at all that much.